Other Centres.

Montreal	$45 \cdot 30$	$73 \cdot 35$
St. John	$45 \cdot 17$	$66 \cdot 40$
Hamilton,	$43 \cdot 16$	$79 \cdot 54$
London		$81 \cdot 13$
Kingston		$76 \cdot 29$

Representative institutions were granted by the British Government to Nova Scotia in 1758, to Prince Edward Island in 1770, to New Brunswick in 1785. Upper and Lower Canada were separated in 1791, each province receiving a Legislature. The Imperial Act creating the two provinces contained the germ of responsible government which was brought into active exercise in 1841, when the two provinces were re-united. Responsible government was definitely established in the province of Canada in 1847. It was granted by the Imperial Parliament to Nova Scotia and New Brunswick in 1848, to Prince Edward Island in 1851 and to British Columbia in 1871.

The North-west Territories were governed at first under the administration of the Lieut.-Governor of Manitoba; then by a Lieut.-Governor and Council nominated by the Dominion Government (Act 1880); then by a Lieut.-Governor and Council, part elected and part nominated; then in 1888 by a Lieut.-Governor and elective Assembly. In the session of 1890, the Federal Parliament provided for the adoption of responsible government.

The system of government established in Canada under the Union Act of 1867 is a Federal Union (the first of the kind in the British Empire) having a general or central government controlling matters essential to the general development, the permanency and the unity of the whole Dominion, and a number of local or provincial governments having the control and management of certain matters naturally and conveniently falling within their defined jurisdiction, while each government is administered in accordance with the British system of parliamentary institutions.

The chief executive government and authority is vested in the Queen in whom is also vested the chief command of the militia and of all naval and military forces in Canada. Her Majesty is represented by a Governor General, appointed by the Queen in Council but paid by Canada.

The Parliament of Canada consists of 1st, the Queen, 2nd, an Upper House called the Senate, and 3rd, a Lower House, called the House of Commons.

The Governor General governs under the advice of a Council of Ministers known as the Privy Council of Canada, which is responsible to the Parliament.